» » Superchunk - What A Time To Be Alive
Superchunk - What A Time To Be Alive Album

Superchunk - What A Time To Be Alive Album

Performer: Superchunk
Title: What A Time To Be Alive
Style: Indie Rock
Released: 16 Feb 2018
Cat#: MRG620
Country: US
Label: Merge Records
Size MP3 version: 1184 mb
Size FLAC version: 2462 mb
Size WMA version: 1153 mb
Rating: 4.0
Votes: 501
Genre: Rock

Superchunk - What A Time To Be Alive Album


1I Got Cut
2Bad Choices
3Black Thread
Vocals – Skylar Gudasz
4Break The Glass
Vocals – Sabrina Ellis
5All For You
Vocals – David Bazan
Vocals – Katie Crutchfield, Stephin Merritt
7Lost My Brain
8What A Time To Be Alive
9Reagan Youth
10Dead Photographers


CategoryArtistTitle (Format)LabelCategoryCountryYear
MRG620Superchunk What A Time To Be Alive ‎(LP, Album, Ltd, Pin)Merge RecordsMRG620US2018
MRG620Superchunk What A Time To Be Alive ‎(LP, Album)Merge RecordsMRG620US2018
MRG620Superchunk What A Time To Be Alive ‎(LP, Album, Ltd, Mer)Merge RecordsMRG620US2018
MRG620Superchunk What A Time To Be Alive ‎(CDr, Album, Promo)Merge RecordsMRG620UK2017
OTCD 6330Superchunk What A Time To Be Alive ‎(CD)OctaveOTCD 6330Japan2018


  • CoverLaura, Mac
  • Mastered ByMatthew Barnhart
  • PerformerJim Wilbur, Jon Wurster, Laura Ballance, Mac McCaughan
  • Photography ByLissa Gotwals
  • Recorded ByBeau Sorenson
  • SongwriterSuperchunk


Barnes and Noble Exclusive version includes autographed album art poster by all four band members.


  • Barcode: 673855062037
  • Label Code: LC 29279
  • Rights Society: BMI
  • Matrix / Runout: MRG 620-A MB171016 166137E1/A 10-84016 / MRG620-NEW - A Cloud of Hate
  • Matrix / Runout: MRG 620-B MB171016 166137E2/A A 2 10-84016 / MRG620-NEW - B Cloud of Love


  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Merge Records
  • Copyright (c) – Merge Records
  • Published By – All The Songs Sound The Same Music
  • Published By – Rough Trade Publishing
  • Recorded At – Manifold Recording, North Carolina
  • Recorded At – Overdub Lane
  • Mastered At – Chicago Mastering Service
  • Pressed By – Precision Record Pressing – 10-84016
  • Mastered At – GZ Media – 166137E


What a Time to Be Alive is the eleventh studio album by the American indie rock band Superchunk. It was released in February 2018 by Merge Records. All tracks are written by Superchunk. Mac McCaughan - vocals, guitar, cover art. Laura Ballance - bass, cover art. Jim Wilbur - guitar. Jon Wurster - drums. Sabrina Ellis - vocals on Break the Glass. Stephin Merritt - vocals on Erasure. Katie Crutchfield - vocals on Erasure. David Bazan - vocals on Cloud of Hate. Guided by Loaf Raw, urgent, and noisy, this album sums up how I felt post the 2016 election. One of the best albums I have heard in a long time from one of the all time great indie rock bands. Favorite track: Lost My Brain. Shane Quinn. Includes unlimited streaming of What a Time to Be Alive via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. ships out within 3 days. Purchasable with gift card. From the album What a Time to Be Alive, out February 16, 2018 on Merge Records. Album 2018 11 Songs. After almost three decades in action, the level of energy Superchunk maintains here initially seems preternatural. But once you realize the songs were written in a flurry of angry, cathartic creativity right after the 2016 presidential election, the level of passionate punk-pop fury on display is a little more explicable. And when Mac and the gang sink their teeth into deceptively buoyant-sounding songs like the title track or I Got Cut, with explosive guitars and earworm hooks in abundance, their outrage and artistry collide with gutsy glory. What a Time to Be Aliv. Songs in album Superchunk - What A Time To Be Alive 2018. Superchunk - What A Time To Be Alive. Superchunk - Lost My Brain. Superchunk - Break The Glass. Superchunk - Bad Choices. Update Required To play the media you will need to either update your browser to a recent version or update your Flash plugin. After almost 30 years as one of indie rock's most reliable bands, one might expect Superchunk to slow down a bit, or maybe turn to country rock as they ease into their dotage. Their 2018 album What a Time to Be Alive proves those suspicions to be 100-percent incorrect. The band sound royally pissed as they rip through a batch of angry, bitter, and bittersweet songs that were written in a rush right after the 2016 U. election, then recorded quickly and simply. The album is about a lot of things, of course, but mainly dealing with anxiety and worse in the face of incipient authoritarianism, says Mac McCaughan. about a pretty dire and depressing situation but hopefully not a record that is dire and depressing to listen to. The urgency of current events after the demoralizing 2016 election gave Mac, Laura, Jim, and Jon the momentum to make something new sooner rather than later. Written almost entirely between November 2016 and February 2017, What a Time to Be Alive was recorded and mixed by Beau Sorenson, who also worked on I Hate Music. Superchunk's 11th album is 'What a Time to Be Alive. Lissa Gotwals. When Donald Trump won the presidency in 2016, something snapped inside the members of Superchunk. As they watched deplorables take cabinet positions and alt-right Nazis align, the veteran indie-rockers had a visceral reaction. Superchunk have grown up mightily since they became indie-rock heroes with their breakout 1992 single Slack Motherfucker, and its insolent chorus, Im working but Im not working for you, but while the times have changed, the songs remain the same if not a little better. Superchunk return after a five-year hiatus with an album that aims their polemic punk rock straight at the Establishment. If I Hate Music showed Superchunks statelier side, What A Time To Be Alive is considerably more aggressive. Lost My Brain is a frenzied slice of thumping drums and breakneck riffs, while the pummelling Cloud of Hate has the cut and thrust of seminal 80s bands Husker Du and The Replacements. Standout track Reagan Youth has the brisk sensibilities of classic Superchunk, built on charging guitars, McCaughans frustrated yelp and Jon Wursters blistering drums. When they slow things down, the results are just as successful


So far the best and only album I've heard from 2018. Enjoyable, somewhat politically potent indie punk. I had no idea B&N were releasing an autographed edition, so I bought it on the fly a few weeks ago in San Antonio. B+.